Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

My Gears: Plantronics Pulsar 590A


Plantronics Pulsar 590 Bluetooth headsetPlantronics 590 Universal Adapter

Starting a new category, “My Gears”.  In this section, I will share with you all my experiences with the latest gears I acquired.  As a tech-freak, I’m mildly to overly obsessed with state-of-the-art telecommunications / computer / electronics / gaming gadgets and I do acquire new toys quite frequently.  I will not be delving into the details of the gears as there are ample reviews of them out there.  Rather, I will link up a review in which echoes my own experiences.  In addition, I will be sharing with you all my thoughts and insights in a consumer point of view, or should I say, a heavy-duty user’s point of view.  Feedbacks and comments are welcome.

Been using this headset for almost 6 months now for my MMORPG online games, iPod, PSP movies, Bluetooth phone and whenever I need a pair of headphones.  The cool telescoping voice tube provide clear and crisp sound for voice communication via ventrilo and Skype.  The universal adapter that comes along with the headset let me link up with my iPod and PSP via bluetooth.  Sound quality over IPOD is great, and as for movie over PSP, only noticed slight delay in terms of voice transmission.  Battery life is awesome, lasted the whole 9 hours plus (total transit time) on my last trip to Shanghai and back, without charging.  Only downside is the supporting headband, would rather if it was one of those where the supporting band is at the back of the head.

A great review with awesome pics can be found here from Legit Reviews

October 12, 2006 - Posted by | My Gears

20 Comments »

  1. I am also interested in purchasing this headset for gaming. Although I have read many reviews and many buyers were not able to get that particular headset to work with ventrilo or gaming. Which bluetooth dongle did you use, or did you just use the adapter it came with? The adapter looks as though it may support sound but not mic.

    Comment by D | October 29, 2006 | Reply

  2. I connect it to my laptop which runs on BlueTooth 1.2 for my online game while using Ventrilo. It drops occasionally, but manageable. Pals said I sound like AM radio, LOL. All and all, still good. Hope this helps.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | October 30, 2006 | Reply

  3. Great blog. Found your blog while searching for more information at yahoo about PSP Downloads. Your blog has quite a lot of interesting thoughts. Keep up the good work,
    Cheers,

    Comment by putting movie on a psp | November 30, 2006 | Reply

  4. Thanks, much appreciated.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | November 30, 2006 | Reply

  5. Hey im having the same problem with vent either i get the mic to work or the headphones i cant do both at the same time. Im still trying to figure it out im sure there is a work around. These headphones are realy awsome and if i get them working with vent they will be the greated piece of tech i bought this year by far any advice for the vent please email lainwired@gmail.com

    Comment by Lainwired | April 3, 2007 | Reply

  6. I’m using it with my new notebook now running on BlueTooth 2.0 and it seems better. closing other programs such as IMs, outlook and xplorer helps too. If you gonna afk a while, take the headphone off, if you get out of range, it drops and you have to reset all again. Hope this helps.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  7. [...] Control Profile (AVRCP).  Remember the dongle I had with my Plantronics Pulsar 590A? (see link here) it works with wonder with this Jabra headset.  Love it on my iPod and new Archos 404 (review [...]

    Pingback by My Gears - Jabra BT8010 « Hong Kong Phooey | June 26, 2007 | Reply

  8. Can i know how to make my mic and headset pulsar 590A work using mic and headphones. i dun have any bluetooth on my desktop only the dongle plantronics gave. Please help me anyone who knows how to use mic and headphones in ventrilo
    Thanks

    Comment by MeP | July 5, 2007 | Reply

  9. You cannot, the supplied doggle is for audio out. What u can do is to get a USB BlueTooth dongle to pair it up and select headset and microphone, I used mine on vent too, but my BlueTooth is built in. Hope it helps, if not, send me another tell.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | July 6, 2007 | Reply

  10. Thanks hongkongphooney.
    Can u recommend good and cheap usb bluetooth doogle ?

    Comment by MeP | July 6, 2007 | Reply

  11. Well, you can find them pretty much anywhere, not an expensive item, just check to make sure it’s version 2.0 compatible.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | July 6, 2007 | Reply

  12. HongkongPhooney hi

    i bought a bluetooth if i use its given cd software driver its has a2dp sound but mic i cant use. If i use BlueSoleil which i downloaded with crack it has mic and headset but not a2dp quality i think. hongkong can i add u msn u teach me ?please email me thanks

    Comment by MeP | July 8, 2007 | Reply

  13. Anyone can help me i bought pulsar 590a and i wanted to use ventrilo with stereo sound there is 2 option bluetooth AV service and bluetooth headset service. if i use only AV service i will have stereo sound but i cant use the mic in ventrilo. if i use headset service i will have mono sound and i can use ventrilo using the mic but will have a very noisy sound when people hear me in ventrilo. anyone can teach me how to get stereo sound and can use mic without the noisy sound that happens when people hear me in ventrilo
    . hope anyone can help me

    Comment by MeP | July 10, 2007 | Reply

  14. Sorry for the late reply, was checking on your problem with a few vent users. Gimme a couple days to work it out. One question though, are you using a BlueTooth version 2.0 dongle with it right now? or is it a version 1.0?

    Comment by hongkongphooey | July 10, 2007 | Reply

  15. Its ok, its a bluetooth version 2.0 and it support a2dp. please help me see into it thanks

    Comment by MeP | July 10, 2007 | Reply

  16. Got everything all lined up for a test tonight, will post results later.

    Meanwhile, read this: http://forums.legitreviews.com/about5453.html

    When we wrote this article we were able to use the Plantronics in a couple of different ways: 1. VoIP/Cellular phone use – the sound wasn’t hi-fi/stereo, but it was very clear; 2. Stereo music listening with the BT dongle. When we tried to use the set to listen to BT stereo and chat via computer (or with the cell phone) we were unsuccessful. This wasn’t really the fault of the headset though as it was the only protocols available. Since then, we have experienced BT headsets that would allow both – stereo music listening with the ability to chat over VoIP. I’m expecting that since over a year has passed, upgrades to both the headset and dongle protocols have improved. We haven’t evaluated the set in a while so I don’t want to give you any false hope.

    You might want to reconsider using this BT set (or any wireless headset) for gaming since they all have an intrinsic lag/delay. This is okay when only listening to music or even chatting via VoIP, but when you are watching movies or gaming it can be a pain and very inconvenient. There are a bunch of quality headsets out there that can be used for gaming, chatting, and music listening that are affordable. The Plantronics is very nice for those who need a BT device for their cellular and who want to listen to music (via phone, computer, or whatever device has a headphone jack). It is versatile enough to be integrated into a computer system for VoIP, but I’ll have to stop my recommendation short when it comes to performing as a Gaming headset.

    Hope that helps!

    Comment by hongkongphooey | July 12, 2007 | Reply

  17. Hi thanks for ur info, but i just wanna use ventrilo using plantronics pulsar 590a using mic and headset with a2dp stereo sound, please help me hongkong.

    Comment by MeP | July 12, 2007 | Reply

  18. I have Plantronics Pulsar 590A… I cannot seem to get it to work for both mic and sound… also, I got the sound to work, but it also keeps playing from my computer speakers… how do I get that to stop?

    I have a bluetooth 2.0 USB that came with my keyboard/mouse (logitech mx5500) and it connects to that, but then disconnects after a bit. I never got the sound to work from that. Also, I have the dongle that came with the headset.

    Please help me :P I spent much money on this thing, and I can’t get it to do waht I want it to. In the end, I plan on using this for World of Waracraft and Ventrilo.

    Comment by DcF | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  19. Hi i have been using Pulsar 590A for 1year +
    I have been using mic + head set through a usb bluetooth on my desktop, and using mono sound quality, its the only way to use both mic and headphones through gaming like steam,ventrilo etc. I am still looking for anyone knows how to select stereo sound that can use both mic and headphones in gaming on ventrilo or steam games.
    Please posst any solution if anyone has it thanks

    Comment by MeP | January 9, 2009 | Reply

  20. hey there, first you gotta make sure your bluetooth supports a2dp (ie. update the bluetooth driver – google for widcomm upgrade pulsar 590 patch …or something like that)

    Then, you just follow the instructions on plantronics, go to: http://plantronics.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/plantronics.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=8328&p_created=1146182410 and download the pdf.. It is not exactly very straight forward but works for me and i’m not using anycom usb bluetooth, mine is a built in bluetooth pussibly widcomm

    Comment by tyred | January 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,170 other followers

