Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

My Gears – Archos 404


archos.jpg

Just got mine before Christmas for HK$2,280 (US$292), been playing with it for 3 days, loving it.  This machine is so sweet I’m shelving my iPod Nano for a while.  It featues a 3.5″ screen, with vivid colours.  For detail spec, click here for Archos’ website and here for cNet’s review.  I agreed that the major drawback is not being able to charge this on the road, apart from using the plane charger, will test it out on my next trip.  Apart from the movies I convert directly with the optional DVR station (HK$680, US$87) which is a very smooth ride, I also downloaded my MP3s and Podcast from iTunes to this player and the results were very nice, it actually sounded better than my iPod Nano.  Took some screenshots off, the album art turns out very nice.  Overall, a very good buy indeed.

archos404a.jpgarchos404b.jpg

December 25, 2006 - Posted by | Gadgets n Gizmos, My Gears, Video

3 Comments »

  1. I got the Archos 504 on Saturday. I laid out for the charging kit as well but not the DVR station. I already have software to convert DVDs and AVIs (that don’t already play on it). I love the screen. Since my 60 gig ipod is near full and I’ve already shoved 40 gigs worth of video into the Archos, think I’ll be carrying both – the only concession I’ve made was to delete all video files off the ipod and am having little trouble filling up the now-open space with other music. I was hoping that my ipod cable would work on this for playback on the TV but that doesn’t seem to be the case. Back to Wanchai on Tuesday (well, back tonight as well, but for different reasons).

    Comment by spike | December 25, 2006 | Reply

  2. [...] My Gears – Archos 404 [...]

    Pingback by My Gear Bag « Hong Kong Phooey | September 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. mine broke several times the soldering is weak in the headphone jacks , also if yours breaks good luck getting nice customer service from these assholes they wont replace mine and its brand new ….. ive been through several of these some short out after the first use , even with several different headphones

    Comment by minebrokesomany | April 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,173 other followers

