Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

My Gears – Jabra BT8010


jabra8010.jpg

[11 Jan] Saw this today, got it, and let me tell you, this is a piece of art.  Don’t get me wrong, still like my Plantronics Pulsar 590A for my music and online gaming (ventrilo) and my old Jabra BT800 (first with caller display), but this piece is ultimate.  You can wear this as just one piece (right side) or connect the attachable stereo unit to it (on left side) and enjoy true Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) and Audio Video Remote Control Profile (AVRCP).  Remember the dongle I had with my Plantronics Pulsar 590A? (see link here) it works with wonder with this Jabra headset.  Love it on my iPod and new Archos 404 (review later).  This headset cost HK$850 (around US$110) and it’s definitely worth it.

For detail specification, click here.

[Update: 13 Jan]  Well, the headphones itself is very nice, however, a major design flaw was noticed the past week.  The plastic ear hook piece can be detached easily, lost mine already.  Called Jabra’s local agent in town and they don’t have the spares yet.  Bummer.  Went downtown and bought the Jabra BT125 which uses the same plastic ear hook piece (US$45).  So for those of you who bought this, beware.

[Update: 19 Jan] More defects noted.  The plastic ear hook piece I was talking about last week, breaks fairly easily, just got mine exchanged at Broadway (10 days replacement guarantee, any shop, that’s why I love shopping there).

[Updated: 26 June] Found a new review and vid on the BT8010 from UltraMobileGeeks, link here.  FYI, I’m still using it daily listening to MP3 on my way to work, still works fine.  No more problem with the plastic ear hook.

 

June 26, 2007 - Posted by | Gadgets n Gizmos, My Gears, Video

7 Comments »

  1. How does music actually sound through these? I have a normal $50 range bluetooth headset that sounds horrible with music (but is fine for podcasts and phone calls) Do these sound bad when playing music through them also?

    Comment by Josh | January 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. Actually they sound pretty good, as I mentioned in my post, I listens to MP3s and watch movies on my Archos while using these headphones. To tell the truth, I was surprised with the sound quality too. The headphones itself have a built-in equalizer which is pretty neat as well. Highly recommended, the experience is good, same with the Plantronics I covered in my earlier post. Hope this helps.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | January 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. [...] – Philips SHB7100 Bluetooth Stereo Headset Lost my Jabra BT8010 two weeks ago and it was a major bummer. Been using my backup earpiece, the Jabra BT125 ever since [...]

    Pingback by Unboxing - Philips SHB7100 Bluetooth Stereo Headset « Hong Kong Phooey | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Can you please tell me how much does it cost? I’m not living in HK so I would like to compare the price. Thanks.

    Comment by Bernie | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  5. The headset cost HK$850 (around US$110), however, stocks are limited as the model been out for quite a while.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  6. where do you find replacement ear hooks for the BT8010 Ifound one on line place it cost 5.99 for pak or 5 but the dame shipping costs 15.99 what a rip

    Comment by Marg | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  7. other than that and the hook breaking easily like someone said already the sound is great I love it

    Comment by Marg | February 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,170 other followers

