Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

Review – Fujitsu U1010


u1010.jpg

Star-TechCentral posted a review on the Fujitsu U1010, link here.  The machine is now available in Hong Kong and the price tag is HK$ 9,998.  I checked and played with one yesterday at the Broadway shop and my first impressions are -

  • the CPU is slow compared to my Sony U27, much lag in video playback
  • the 5.6″ screen not as crisp as I thought, touch sensitivity mediocre
  • the 4-cell battery not going to last too long
  • running Vista on this machine is really stretching things a bit, should have better performance under XP Tablet OS
June 26, 2007 - Posted by | Gadgets n Gizmos, Review, UMPC

4 Comments »

  1. [...] Review – Fujitsu U1010 [image] Star-TechCentral posted a review on the Fujitsu U1010, link here.  The machine is now available [...]

    Pingback by Top Posts « WordPress.com | June 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. A great technical achievement but like the Libretto before it (I wrote my first web site on one) doomed to failure as the keyboard and screen are just too small. The 800 MHz processor does not make it really a machine for the Vista age so what gives? And the battery cannot last that long. I guess we have to accept that we have hands of a certain size and human eyes….that’s life. I love small machines but my present Thinkpad X60 is as small as I’m going to go. Spend the money on a holiday. This machine will slowly drive you mad.

    Comment by George Adams | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. Can’t agree more. My sister just got this over the weekend and thank God she got the Windows XP version. Well, she’ll be needing her reading glasses.

    BTW, nice site you got, linked yours to mine.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Thank you. It is very hard to give up gadget acquisition addiction (GAA) which as we know is a sad replacement for productivity and a real life. I am very proud I have only bought two laptops the past five years. One was an absolutely useless but fatally attractive Sharp superthin job but the battery and RAM were dud. Well, we all have our bad days off the wagon. Then I got the Thinkpad X60 and it is a dream (with maximum RAM). Perhaps you should start a support group for people attracted to useless, glittery tiny machines which will simply make their lives more difficult, unproductive and unhealthy whilst emptying their bank accounts as well. I am a recovering gadget maniac. So far so good…this Fujitsu machine almost got me started again. One day at a time…

    Comment by George Adams | August 24, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,172 other followers

