Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

Unboxing – Philips SHB7100 Bluetooth Stereo Headset


Lost my Jabra BT8010 two weeks ago and it was a major bummer. Been using my backup earpiece, the Jabra BT125 ever since but want to try out something new (the Jabra BT125 is a basic piece, a bit boring but nonetheless a decent earphone). So what I did was I went down to my favorite mobile accessories shop to check out the headset today after work. Prior to that, I had my shopping requirements all set. First, they have to be stereo for I intend to use them for my MP3 player/iPod together with my Bluetooth dongle from my Plantronics Pulsar 590A. Apart from that, what I had in mind was a pair of headset with earplugs instead of hooks (Jabra BT8010 uses hooks and it can make your ears a bit sore after wearing it for a prolonged period). Caller ID used to be a must too but this time I let that one slide.

After checking out close to 20 pairs of different headsets, I finally picked out the Philips SHB7100 (the SHB7102 comes with a Bluetooth dongle and a stretch-pouch to attach the dongle to whatever player you use). The headset sounds pretty good given the price (HK$550/US$70).  The unboxing pics below -

7100a.jpg

7100b.jpg

7100c.jpg

7100d.jpg

7100e.jpg

October 23, 2007 - Posted by | Accessories, Bluetooth, Gadgets n Gizmos, Pics | ,

32 Comments »

  1. HI

    I am really interested in this headset but I don’t understand all this talk of a bluetooth dongle.

    I want to use this device with my nokia n95 8gb to listen to music and take calls whilst driving. Do I need a bluetooth dongle ??

    Comment by Pete Luffman | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. The Bluetooth dongle is only needed if the phone or PMP you try to use does not have Bluetooth on it. The Nokia N95 have Bluetooth so you’re pretty safe.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. [...] shows the dongle itself – it is about 3cm high by 1.5cm wide and 1.2cm deep. Good pictures here : Unboxing – Philips SHB7100 Bluetooth Stereo Headset Hong Kong Tech Phooey Usual pricing nightmare – Philips have for 79.99, Dixons for 58.99, I paid 50 … and online shops [...]

    Pingback by BT Stereo on TyTNII / N958GB etc - 4WinMobile.com | July 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. I buy this kind of Philips Bluetooth same model but when I try to pair it with my N95 8GB its not pairing, any body can help me. Please take note I used the passkey that is writen in the manual.

    Comment by Teody | August 23, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hi,
    I just got my new Philips SHB7100, but I’m having problem pairing it with my N95. The Passkey is not working. Please help. Thanks.

    Comment by Vigie | September 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Before i had Jabra bt3030 + akg k240 headphones… Akg headbhones because orginal headphnes sux. Now i use same akg with this philips and wow sound was mutch more better than all other i had before. Even receiver was good. you can get good wireless quality from anywhere not only nokia from phone (whit out receiver) :-) I had no any problems with 6120 Classic, Nokia E61, Nokia E90 Communicator. I have no tested with n95 But those i tested before works good.

    Comment by -=[HiskiBoy]=- | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. I also have the SHB7100 and although the pairing pin is 0000, it dows not work…..! i have tried this on an iPhone a Nokia 6300… still no luck… Incorrect passkey…

    Any idea’s

    Yusuf – London – UK

    Comment by Yusuf | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. The Philips tech-support asked if I pressed the connecting button on the blu-tooth dongle long enough or until it blinks back and forth from red to blue. This takes 5 s of pressing. After this the connection worked just fine. You can actually read this in the user manual too…

    So don`t just start the SHB7100 when you pair it with 95, keep the button pressed down until the light shifts from blue to red and back after which you can enter the code 0000 and Voilà!

    Comment by Deepta Shrestha | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hope this help u guys out there..it is all working for me now..
    Keep the button pressed down until the light shifts from blue to red and back after which you can enter the code 0000 and Voilà!

    Comment by Deepta Shrestha | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  10. Deepta, thanks for the tip.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | October 26, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hi,

    I was wondering if Philips SHB7100 can be used as a microphone as a on the PS3?

    Thank You

    Comment by XerXeshon | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hi guys,

    got a couple of questions is it a normal USB or a special socket? can it be used while charging or does it turn off when the charger is plugged in.

    Comment by jet73 | October 31, 2008 | Reply

  13. sorry I mean normal USB or a special socket for the charger.

    Comment by jet73 | October 31, 2008 | Reply

  14. No. It’s not using a USB connector for charging. It looks proprietary to me (haven’t seen anything like it before).

    Comment by BLKGHOST | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  15. hi i have an iphone 3G and i have paired the iphone and my philips SHB7100 headphones and i can make and take calls through it but i cant listen to music. Does anyone know how i can please.

    Comment by cameron | December 11, 2008 | Reply

    • Are you using a Bluetooth dongle? if not, you cannot listen to music as I assume you only paired up with iPhone’s mono (non A2DP) Bluetooth.

      Comment by hongkongphooey | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  16. Regarding the fact of needing a dongle for it to work with the iPhone, is that a problem with the iphone or with the bluetooth headset?

    Comment by Thiago Almeida | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  17. I have SHB7102 (technical the same as the SHB7100 but a white version, with bluetooth audio dongle).

    The headset supports 2 bluetooth profiles: Headset and Wireless Stereo. The last one should be used to listen to music, the first one is for making telephone calls.
    It works great one my mobile phone (HTC Touch Pro).

    The dongle I at home for my television.

    Frank.

    Comment by frank | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  18. Of course you can still have CALL ID if you have a phone that announces the caller, like mine the TREO 700. awesome with bluetooth headphones. gps on the motorbike in your headphones as well as calls and music played from the sd card…

    Comment by Bruce | January 27, 2009 | Reply

  19. i brought a phillips shb 7100 but won’t work with my blackberry perl
    i can answer a call but won’t play my music in the headphones
    can someone help me please

    Comment by JAY | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  20. Problem playing music from Phone!

    Just bought Philips SHB7100. It works great on my mac.
    Trying to set it up on my Palm Treo 650. Having a few problems.
    Got it to work with the calls. But not yet with Realplayer to play music from my phone.
    Does any know how to get this right?
    Pls..
    Best Rgds
    Bruce

    Comment by Bruce | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  21. @ Bruce, that’s weird, try and see whether it works with 3rd party music players.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  22. Deepta Shrestha is right, use that method suggested

    Comment by sunny | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  23. I bought this BT headset after Chrsitmas 2007 and have been generally happy with it. It’s paired with my Sony-Ericisson W580 cell phone, which I use more as a Walkman than a phone. But I’m having a problem that I can’t fix. It doesn’t want to shutdown. I press the center button and it gives a beep in the headset but doesn’t want to power off. Anybody else have a similar problem?

    Sailorskip

    Comment by Sailorskip | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  24. Hi, does this Philip SHB7100 work with iPod touch 3.0?

    Comment by Iris | July 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Sorry, mine is out of commission. Bought the new Sony Ericsson HBH-IS 800 BT headset today and working great. The HBH-205 works too if you’re looking for a cheaper one.

      Comment by hongkongphooey | July 26, 2009 | Reply

      • Thanks a lot!

        Comment by Iris | July 27, 2009

  25. I have A Philip SHB7100 Bluetooth but I lost the charger. Can you please tell me where I can find one please? Thank you

    Clodya

    Comment by clodya | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  26. Very nice blog. Seems so many readers were really interested on your post and I really appreciate it too. Thanks for sharing the information about Philips SHB7100 Bluetooth Stereo Headset. Very interesting.

    Comment by Headsets Microphones | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  27. i tried connecting philips SHB 7100 with my mobile with 0000 as d passcode but its showing incorrect passcode..any suggestions??

    Comment by anish | March 25, 2012 | Reply

    • “0000” is the default password, if it does not work, you better check with Philips support.

      Comment by hongkongphooey | March 25, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,173 other followers

