Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

I Crossed Over to Mac, WOOT


Well, it’s been almost two weeks since I ventured into the Mac world.  Bought my first Mac (the MacBook Pro) finally after 20+ years into computing.  Wasn’t sure that I would be too comfortable with the switch, I felt like an elderly learning how to read and write all over during my first week with the MacBook Pro.  But thanks to a few Mac friends out there, especially Belle over at BeansBox, who lend me “The Rough Guide to Macs and OS X” (really good read, thanks Belle), the switching seems to be quite smooth as I move into the second week.  This week, I will be working my ways around the video editing program, iMovie, and see whether it have enough juice for me to edit videos with my new camcorder, Sony HDR-SR11E (will blog on the new camcorder later this week).

Well, some would ask why the switch? the answer is the attractive price offer in the back-to-school special from Apple.  HK$13,900 for the 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook seems pretty reasonable to me.  Remember last week I blogged about the price slash on the SSD version of the MacBook Air? Well, that price slash is reflected in the special as well (for only HK$19,900).  For those who want even better deals, check out the Apple certified refurbished Macs, for example a Refurbished iMac 24-inch 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Extreme with 2GB memory, 500GB hard drive and ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB memory cost only HK$12,468.

For those who’s thinking about switching as well, there’s a good article, Some General Tips for Switch to Mac From Windows, from Mossberg last week, check it out.

July 9, 2008 - Posted by | Apple, Gadgets n Gizmos, Mac, My Gears, Notebooks | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. [...] to MacBook Pro? Nah Back in July I crossed over from PC to Mac and bought my first MacBook Pro.  Last week, Apple announced the new line of MacBooks and MacBook [...]

    Pingback by Upgrade to MacBook Pro? Nah « Hong Kong Tech Phooey | October 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,173 other followers

