Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

Salute to the last episode of GeekBrief.TV and Welcome GeekBeat.TV


For the past four years, I have been enjoying watching the GeekBrief podcast on my iPod/iPhone and the show is part of the reason that I turned into a tech/gadget geek myself.  The host Cali Lewis and her producer Neil Campbell produces great shows on the latest tech news week in week out.  Today, the 800th episode turns out to be the last episode due to a fallout between the production team and their sponsor, Mevio, real bummer.

According to the latest post on Cali’s blog, she pretty much outlines the reason of the fallout and her upcoming projects:

“Neal and I started Geek Brief over four years ago, on December 23rd, 2005. We had every intention of making it our full time jobs, and together with Mevio, we were able to achieve that goal very quickly. It’s been an amazing four years, ALL because of you guys, the Geek Brief family and community.

Early on in the show, we partnered with Mevio (then PodShow). It was a partnership that was beneficial to everyone involved, and I will always be thankful for the opportunities! Partnerships have their ups and downs, as did ours. Over the past several months, we’ve been trying to resolve some lingering business issues, but sometimes things just don’t work out.

I can’t even begin to express how much you guys mean to me. When I started, I had no idea what was coming, and I feel extremely lucky to have you in my life and do what I do for a living. You guys make me love my job, and I love you for that!!!

I’m NOT disappearing, though! My new show is called GeekBeat.TV at www.geekbeat.tv. I love technology and gadgets and exciting research projects from places like MIT, so don’t worry, you’ll still get your dose of tech news!

Please make sure you subscribe to the new show! I don’t usually beg you guys, but I do need every single one of you to change your subscriptions!! The first episode of GeekBeat.TV will be out very soon!

You can check out what Neal’s up to at www.nealcampbell.com.”

Here, I would like to wish Cali a great success on the new show which is due to be aired on Monday, 28 June 2010.  Good luck to Neil as well.

Source – Cali Lewis

June 27, 2010 - Posted by | Blogroll, Gadgets n Gizmos | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I’m pretty sure the dissolving of GeekBrief has much more to do with her failed marriage to producer Neil rather than ‘lingering business issues’ with mevio.

    I wish them the both of luck in the future though

    Comment by Daniel Essex | June 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. I think that is what Cali meant, metaphorically speaking that is – that she and Neal didn’t work out having separated the first of the year. Sad for them, but that is life and I am sure they will move on. They seemed to be very different people despite their mutual tech affection so perhaps it is not surprising they parted ways.

    Comment by Dan J | July 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,172 other followers

