Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

My Take on Digital Wallet


Lately, I joined the ranks as a DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex) camera owner (the Sony A700, more on that later in the week) and I’ve been looking around for a digital wallet for both storage and reviewing the pictures. While researching on that topic, I received a query over this blog site’s Meebo IM and a reader asked me my take on digital wallet as well. As promised, I’m going to post up my take, however, as I am totally new when it comes to DSLR and their accessories, so if there’s something you want to add, please feel free to leave a comment.

Well, in looking for a digital wallet, my criteria are –

  • a big enough screen to review the pictures;
  • a large enough hard disk to store my pictures;
  • memory card support, SD/SDHC Memory card /Multimedia card *3/Compact flash/Micro Drive/Memory Stick(Duo?)
  • both JPEG and RAW compatible
  • USB 2.0
  • PMP functions (now that would be an extra)

And it boils down to the Epson P-5000, which features a 80GB hard disk, a 4 inch ( 640 x R-YG-B-EG x 480 dots) TFT LCD screen, supports SD/SDHC Memory card /Multimedia card *3/Compact flash/Micro Drive (no Memory Stick though), USB 2.0 and it functions as a PMP as well, capable of playing the following formats –

  • MPEG1/2 – 720×480 @ 30fps, 720×576 @ 25fps
  • MPEG4 – 720×480 @ 30fps, 720×576 @ 25fps
  • DivX® – 720×480 @ 30fps, 720×576 @ 25fps
  • H.264/AVC – 320×240 @ 30fps
  • WMV9 – 352×288 @ 30fps
  • Motion JPEG – 720×480 @ 30fps, 720×576 @2 5fps, 320×240 @ 60fps

Sounds too good to be true. Price tag, a bit hefty at HK$4,725 (US$606). For a cheaper model, the Epson P-3000 with the same specs but with a 40GB hard disk will cost you around HK$3,360 (US$430). Well, would I be getting it? yes if I had sold my Sony UX-27 as I said I would earlier, but thank God I didn’t. I am now using it as a digital wallet as well. Who would have guessed that this UMPC could double up as a digital wallet as well.

ux27-digital-wallet.jpg

For more info, check out the following article, Epson P-3000 and P-5000, from Digital Photography Review.

December 26, 2007 - Posted by | Cameras/Camcorders, Gadgets n Gizmos, PMP, SONY, UMPC | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

