Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

Hardware Woes – My Fujitsu T2010 Down


[8:35am, 24 January] The battery of my Fujitsu T2010 went dead two days ago, not sure why it’s such short-lived (just would not charge up). Was going to take it to the shop for repair (think still under some sort of warranty since it’s less than 6 months old) this weekend and to buy another one just in case. Well, it didn’t stop there, it refused to boot up this morning, something’s wrong with the startup program and the startup reapir on board just could not fix it. So basically, I’m super bummed.

Don’t IM me on Meebo this morning, don’t email me, leave me alone.

[1 hour later, 10:00am] Well finally got it to boot, seems like the SD card which I plugged in is the main problem. Well you know Vista, it might have treated the memory card as a ready-boost pre-installed card (great feature with limited ram or for UMPC), think I need to check on the settings and turn it off since I already have 2GB Ram on board.

[Updated: 4 March] Well, finally got my replacement battery (free from 12 months guarantee) for the Fujitsu T2020. Thought about getting a second one for stanby and it costs HK$1,800, hefty, scrapped the idea. Took them 4 weeks for shipment but nonetheless I all happy now. Without the TabletPC, I’m down to my SONY UX27 for works on the road.

March 4, 2008 - Posted by | Blogroll, Notebooks | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I had a similar problem with Vista a couple months ago. It too was caused by and SD card. I never figured out exactly why it did what it did (although, I’m pretty sure it wasn’t a ReadyBoost issue), so now I just make sure to unplug SD cards before booting up — just to be safe.

    Comment by Jay Oatway | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. same as mine I sometime have problem going to hibernation mode, it just stuck at there

    Comment by Sagitis | February 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Phooey, are you overall happy with your T2010?

    Comment by robdam1001 | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh yes, very much so. The Fujitsu 2010 is well-built, battery is great spec is awesome (way better than the HP2710P, but think the new Dell Tablet is pretty good too, yet to see). Key thing is 2GB Ram on board is a must. As for the battery, think either I fried it with my other OEM charger or just a minor glitch, customer service was very good(though shipping time of the battery was long but given the Chinese New Year….) and happy about it.

    Comment by hongkongphooey | March 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

