Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

My Gears – Tamron SP AF70-200mm F/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro (Sony Mount)


Front view with my Sony A900

Front view with my Sony A900

Side view

Side view

Top view

Top view

Got this lens for two weeks now and been out shooting a bit the past two weekends. Initial feeling towards the lens – great F/2.8 lens at this range, not a fast lens, great for portrait but okay with sports. Tamron Hong Kong now offering firmware upgrade to the lens but they can only do so by sending the lens back to Japan and it will take up to four weeks in doing so. Reviews on the firmware upgrade from the local forums indicated that the lens focus a lot faster and more quiet. Think I’m going to check it out after my two trips next month.

Will post up some pics over at my photo blog, Phooey Pics, later this week. So far I can say, for a third of the money in getting the G lens from Sony, I’m happy with this Tamron.

March 23, 2009 - Posted by | Camera, DSLR, Gadgets n Gizmos, My Gears, SONY | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

