Hong Kong Tech Phooey

a tech junkie from Hong Kong

My Gear – Beikin N1 Vision Router


beikin1.jpg

When it comes to router, used to think it’s just a router box with some indicator lights up front and couple antennas sticking out in the back.  Not until I got the Beikin N1 Vision router back in October that I realized that a router could be that sleek and sexy.  The N1 Vision have that awesome black piano finish and the LED display provides you with useful information such as

  • Download/Upload Speedometer
  • Network Bandwidth Usage
  • Number of Connected Devices
  • Guest Access Network Key
  • Date and Time
  • beikina.jpg

    beikin2.jpg

     The bandwitdth monitor is by far the most useful information for I get to know whether anyone is leeching off my internet.  The price tag is around HK$1,500 (US$192).

    Installation wise, it’s a total breeze.  The CD-less installation is fast and the network security setup is easy.  Ideal for those who are not too familiar with how to setup the home network.

    Other highlights on the specification –

  • Operating Range: Up to 1,600 ft.**
  • Link Rate: Up to 300Mbps in 20/40MHz channel mode
  • Compatible with IEEE 802.11g, 802.11b, 802.11n draft 2.0*, 802.3ab
  • Ports: WAN – 1 Gigabit port; LAN – 4 Gigabit ports
  • Security: Wi-Fi Protected Setup™; WPA™, WPA2™; 64-/128-bit WEP encryption; multiple SSID
  • VPN Support: PPTP; IPSec pass-through
  • One minor glitch in regarding the Beikin N1 Vision router is the directional pad.  One have to press very hard for it to access the next page, reminds me of those waterproof buttons on the first generation Tablet PC. 

    TO close this out, I included the following video which I pulled off YouTube, very informative, hope you enjoy. 

    Video Source – TigerDirectBlog

    December 19, 2007 - Posted by | Gadgets n Gizmos, My Gears, Review, Video | ,

    4 Comments »

    1. That router is the most beautiful router I have ever seen. I hope my neighbours doesn’t get one because I leech on them all the time. 🙂 The name of their network is the default “Home”, so cute.

      I saw that you got one of those Saitek gaming devices, the one with a little joystick for your thumb. I had one of those back home and have looked in vain to find one in Hong Kong. Do you know where I could pick one up?

      Hoppas du har glögg til jul,
      Staffan

      Comment by Staffan | December 19, 2007 | Reply

    2. Theat’s the Saitek ProGamer Controller you’re talking about. There’s a shop in Mongkok Computer Centre which sells PC Games right on the first floor and they have it there together with the flight simulator controllers.

      Let me know if you need more info.

      Comment by hongkongphooey | December 20, 2007 | Reply

    3. I found the store and picked on up, thanks for the help!

      And by the way, my greeting in my first comment is there because somehow my brain melted and i confused you with a swedish blogger. What it means is that i hope you´ll have the spiced warm wine, called Glögg in swedish, to drink for christmas. So let me rephrase that and just say merry christmas and a happy new year!

      Comment by Staffan | December 23, 2007 | Reply

    4. Same to you too.

      Comment by hongkongphooey | December 23, 2007 | Reply


    Leave a comment